The town was first mentioned in chronicles in 1340 as a settlement that belonged to Duke Gedimin. In 1383 Oshmyany became the residence of Jagello, the Grand Duke of Lithuania.
Oshmyany has never been away from historical events. The town was attacked by Crusaders, later it was the center of a revolt organized by Duke Keistut. Then there was the revolt of 1794 and the Patriotic War of 1812, when Oshmyany was occupied by Napoleon’s army.
In the center of the town there is the Church of the Holy Resurrection which was built in 1875 (pseudo-Russian style). The church and the cathedral form a unique image of the central square of Oshmyany.
Near the church there is the Cathedral of Archangel Michael (1910). In the middle of the 20th century the cathedral hosted a factory, but in 1990 it was returned to the parish.
Sovetskaya St., tel. (801593) 45255
Oshmyany, 108, Sovetskaya St, tel. (80159) 44538
Stary Mlyn cafe Oshmyany, 11, Borunskaya St, tel. (801593)45151
Oshmyany, 2, Sovetskaya St, tel. (801593) 40529
Galaktika cafe Oshmyany, 17 Sentyabrya St, tel (801593) 44271
Straunya Daragastayskaga cafe Oshmyany District, Grintsy village, tel. 8 (029) 610 74 23
Oshmyany, 66, Sovetskaya SL, tel. (801593) 40774
Gippika equestrian sports center
Oshmyany District, Grintsy village
При использовании материалов сайта обязательна прямая ссылка на grodno-best.info